The National Curriculum in Wales

The school follows the National Curriculum in Wales. Being a voluntary aided Roman Catholic school, Religion is taught as important part of the curriculum. As such it is part of the ‘core’ curriculum. The curriculum is in two main parts:

Core Subjects’ English, Mathematics, Science & Religious Education

Foundation’ History, Geography, Art, Music, Design Technology,
Physical Education, Welsh as a second language,

is a subject in its own right but also runs through all the above as a key skill. Similarly, Personal & Social Education and Education in Sustainability, Global Development & Citizenship pervade many areas of the curriculum.

At the end of their time in school, the children undertake a series of assessment tasks. These added together with assessments throughout their time in school allow the school to award the child with a National Curriculum level. The expected level for children at age 11 is Level 4.

All schools are inspected on a six-year cycle by ‘Estyn’, the inspection authority for Wales. For more information on the school’s last inspection visit Estyn at

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player